Rivermate | Cayman Islands flag

Cayman Islands

Vacation and Leave Policies

Understand the regulations on vacation and other types of leave in Cayman Islands

Holiday leave

In the Cayman Islands, the Labour Law (2021 Revision) outlines the rights of employees regarding vacation leave. Every employee is entitled to a minimum of two working weeks, which equates to 14 working days, of paid vacation leave for each completed year of continuous service.

Accrual and Eligibility

While vacation leave can be taken after completing a full year of service, it's crucial to understand that employees can accrue vacation time throughout their employment tenure with an employer.

Carryover of Leave

Employees are allowed to carry over up to one week of accrued vacation leave to the next year. However, any unused leave beyond this will be forfeited unless there is an explicit agreement stating otherwise.


During their vacation leave, employees are entitled to receive their regular salary in full. This ensures that their income remains stable even while they are on leave.

Public holidays

The Cayman Islands observe a vibrant mix of national, historical, and religious holidays throughout the year. Here's a breakdown of the officially recognized public holidays:

Fixed Date Holidays

  • New Year's Day (January 1st): Marks the beginning of the calendar year.
  • Ash Wednesday (February/March): The first day of Lent in the Christian tradition (observed by some denominations). The exact date varies yearly.
  • Good Friday (March/April): A Christian holiday commemorating the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. The exact date varies yearly.
  • Easter Monday (March/April): The day after Easter Sunday. The exact date varies yearly.
  • Discovery Day (Third Monday in May): Celebrates the discovery of the Cayman Islands by Christopher Columbus.
  • Queen's Birthday (Second Monday in June): Celebrates the official birthday of the reigning British monarch.
  • Constitution Day (First Monday in July): Commemorates the signing of the first Cayman Islands Constitution in 1959.
  • Remembrance Day (November 11th): Honors those who served and died in armed conflicts.
  • Christmas Day (December 25th): A Christian holiday celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ.
  • Boxing Day (December 26th): Observed the day after Christmas Day.

Types of leave

In the Cayman Islands, the Labour Law (2021 Revision) provides a framework for various types of leave available to employees.

Vacation Leave

Employees are entitled to a minimum of two working weeks (14 working days) of paid annual leave for each completed year of service. During vacation leave periods, employees receive full pay.

Sick Leave

After completing a probationary period (often six months), employees are entitled to paid sick leave. The specific duration may vary depending on employment agreements or workplace policies. Employers are obligated to provide full pay for the first five days of certified sick leave and half-pay for an additional seven days, up to a maximum of 12 days total paid sick leave allowed in a given year. Employers may require a medical certificate to validate the need for sick leave after three consecutive days.

Maternity Leave

Female employees are entitled to 12 weeks of paid maternity leave, usually split before and after childbirth. Maternity leave benefits may be covered by employers or a combination of employer and social insurance programs.

Other Types of Leave

Employees may be entitled to short-term paid leave in the case of the death of a close family member. The specific provisions often depend on employment agreements or workplace policies. Employees may also be entitled to short-term leave for circumstances such as marriage, medical appointments, or civic duties. Specific provisions may depend on employment agreements or workplace policies.

Rivermate | A 3d rendering of earth

Hire your employees globally with confidence

We're here to help you on your global hiring journey.